黑斯廷斯观察家报大楼LOFT改造

我们的设计让英国黑斯廷斯观察家报大楼不仅得到了改造,更获得了新生。这座20世纪20年代的废弃建筑由此焕然一新,并成为黑斯廷斯创意白岩社区的当代中心。

这座标志性的建筑曾经是繁华的突发新闻中心,但是已废弃30年,内部只能看到寥寥几只鸽子和涂鸦艺术家。我们设计概念将此建筑转变为一个集临时装置和展览、乒乓球、家庭活动、创意工作室和酒吧等为一体的社区空间以立即投入使用,从而为其重注活力并恢复人气。

这些临时性的装置是分阶段开发的第一步,将使这座历史建筑转变为由顶楼公寓、餐厅和艺术家工作室组成的综合体。

我们的设计方案将确保原建筑的历史特色与当代元素相融合,并创造引人注目的景色。重要的是,它将成为黑斯廷斯吸引投资、人才和有志之士的热门目的地。

客户

All Living Things

地点

英国,黑斯廷斯

现状

非建成

时间

2017

设计团队

Julian Gitsham、Ashley Littlewood、Sarah Willats、Antoine Pascal、Chris Chesters、Evelyn Choy、Eliza de Silva、Miguel Reyna、Nicholas DeBruyne

分享至

微博 Twitter Facebook

该项目的历史底蕴和在当地的知名度意味从规划局获批将是一个漫长而复杂的过程。我们的团队组织了大规模的利益相关者演讲和社区研讨会,并针对外部的设计评审专家组和英格兰历史组织作了更详细的演讲。我们还密切参与此栋建筑的临时再利用,发现了再利用获得了支持,也吸引了寻求就业和培训机会的当地社区居民。

我们使用cookies以提供更好的浏览体验。点击此处获得更多相关信息。

Hastings Observer Loft Development

More a resurrection than a redevelopment, our design for the Observer Building in Hastings, UK, brought a derelict 1920s building back to life and made it the contemporary heart of Hastings’ creative White Rock community.

Once a bustling hub of breaking news, the landmark building sat disused for 30 years – with only pigeons and graffiti artists inside its walls. Our concept revived the buzz by waking up the building and putting it to immediate use as a community space – mixing pop-up installations and exhibitions, table tennis, family activities, creative workshops and a bar.

These temporary works were the first step of a phased development that would see the heritage building converted into a mix of loft apartments, restaurants and artists’ studios.

The proposed design would ensure the legacy of the original Observer Building, with a contemporary twist – and drop-dead views. Importantly, it would be a beacon to attract talent, ambition and investment to Hastings.

Client

All Living Things

Location

Hastings, UK

Status

Unbuilt

Year

2017

Design team

Julian Gitsham, Ashley Littlewood, Sarah Willats, Antoine Pascal, Chris Chesters, Evelyn Choy, Eliza de Silva, Miguel Reyna, Nicholas DeBruyne

Share

Twitter    Facebook

The project’s heritage considerations and its prominence in the town meant the process for gaining planning approval was long and complex. Our team led large stakeholder presentations and community-wide workshops, as well as more detailed presentations to external design review panels and Historic England. We were also closely associated with the temporary re-use of the building, which saw support and employment teams working with locals who needed employment and training.

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more.