超密度城市的车站设计

分享至

微博 Twitter Facebook

分散的车站入口是香港应对超密度的关键

作者:Peter Morley ,插图:Steve Tran

香港人口密度高达6万人/每平方公里,这种惊人的超密度得以维持的原因是多数人没有私家车。百分之八十的出行依靠公共交通,余下的百分之二十中接近一半使用出租车。由于尽可能减少私家车的使用,香港得以高效利用有限的城市空间。

如多数城市一样,密度、房产价值与公共交通的便利性之间有着明确的联系。香港的公共交通运输能力主要来自在壮观的城市天际线下穿梭的港铁(MTR)网络。

高楼鳞次栉比的剪影有如这座城市的巨型房价图,楼房层数越高、密度越大,则房地产价值越高。把销售中介的房产地图和港铁地图重叠,可以明显看出香港土地价值与其地下的地铁网络服务间的相关性。

高密度会引发一些问题,香港的人行道狭窄且常常过度拥挤就是其中之一。只有乘客能在地铁、公车、电车和出租车间轻松换乘时,公共交通网的效率才能得到保障,而换乘需要宝贵的空间。

每平方公里60560人的观塘是香港2018年人口密度最高的区。

信息来源:香港政府统计处

香港半山区公寓鸟瞰图 图源:dbimages / Alamy

拓展车站的价值

在全球众多城市,地铁站门口的广场往往都为轿车与公车所占据。这通常是由于地铁站设计了主要的出入“站口”而造成的后果。

单一入口设计将地铁站为房地产升值的能力限制在较小的区域内。而分散型设计可在地铁站周边的更大区域设置多个入口。多数港铁车站的入口在四个以上,有些站设置了多达十个入口,全部由地下或地上行人通道相连。这种设计令每个地铁站的辐射范围远远超过其主体建筑的面积。

这也意味着可以在不止一条街道上设置换乘点,从而将行人分流,尽可能减少人行道的拥堵。也将车站入口对周边区域的经济提振效应扩散到更大的城区范围,令更广大的社区受益。

香港的港铁与机场快线网络中共有93个地铁站,平均每日运载约497万人次。

信息来源:香港政府

地铁+房产模式

扩散地铁站的影响和价值提升效应的另一种方法是将其融入周边片区。港铁车站主体建筑都有通往附近零售、商务或住宅开发项目的出口。公车与出租车换乘点往往位于这些楼房的底层。

这种港铁命名为“地铁+房产”的开发模式展示了融合地铁站地上和地下空间开发的规划价值。该方案既为乘客带来便利,也为基础设施所需资金增加了收入来源。

但这一模式取决于周边土地的所有权和能否获取开发产生的收入。许多城市需要在土地所有权复杂的现有城区建设新基础设施。在这种情况下实施地铁+房产模式较为困难。港铁在升级与扩建老化的运输基础设施时也面临同样的问题。

港铁地下通道中的通勤者 图源:Yuen Man Cheung / Alamy
港铁地下通道中的拼贴艺术墙 图源:SOPA Images Limited / Alamy

复杂难题与长期利益

融入周边开发项目有种种障碍,替代方案是建设连接车站多个入口的地下走廊。而在拥挤的城市道路下方施工也有难度,需进行征地、扰民、避开现有基础设施等成本高昂的工作。如尽量缩小地铁站面积,建设工作可能相对容易完成。

长走廊和多入口的维护与监管也是个难题。在这些通道中提供发展零售的机会可以带来收入,同时也形成了“被动监管”的局面。餐饮销售点很受乘客欢迎,但每个车站所能承受的便利店数量有限。发展地下零售也提高了对施工、维修、通风和紧急逃生等方面的要求。

将这些通道设计得吸引并方便乘客需要投入资金。港铁已翻新了旧车站昏暗简陋的通道,改善了照明和内部装修,并以艺术品点缀其间。

尽管实施起来有种种困难,但香港证明了分散式地铁站入口模式的效果很好。达到良好效果需要远见卓识和大量时间与资金的投入,但回报也极为丰厚。港铁的基础设施与车站规划是香港得以成功应对惊人的城市密度的秘诀。其他城市也可采用这一方法以产生积极而持久的经济与社会影响。

我们使用cookies以提供更好的浏览体验。点击此处获得更多相关信息。

Stations for superdense cities

Distributed station entrances are the key to Hong Kong’s superdensity

By Peter Morley with illustration by Steve Tran

Hong Kong’s amazing superdensity of up to 60 thousand people per square kilometre is possible because most people don’t have cars. Eighty per cent of all journeys are on public transport and almost half the remaining trips are by taxi. Minimising private car usage means Hong Kong can be very efficient with its limited urban space.

As in most cities, there’s a clear link between density, property value and public transit access. Hong Kong’s public transport capacity comes from the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) network that threads its way below the city’s amazing skyline.

The city’s silhouette of towers is like a supergraphic of property prices: the taller and denser the buildings, the higher the real estate value. Overlay a selling agent’s map with the MTR map and it’s easy to see that Hong Kong’s land values correlate with the rail network service underneath. 

Density creates some problems, one of which is that Hong Kong’s pavements are narrow and often overcrowded. A public transport network is efficient if it enables easy interchange between trains, buses, trams and taxis. These interchanges need valuable space. 

Kwun Tong, with 60,560 people per sqkm, was the most densely populated district among Hong Kong’s District Council in 2018.

Source: Government of Hong Kong Census and Statistics Department

Aerial view of apartment buildings in Midlevels, Hong Kong. Image: dbimages / Alamy

EXTENDING THE VALUE OF THE STATION

In many cities around the world, typical train station entrances include plazas dominated by cars and buses. This is often a consequence of designing train stations with a primary gateway’ entrance.

A single station entrance limits the real estate uplift that a train station can provide to a smaller urban area. But a distributed model has multiple station entrances throughout the wider surrounding area. In Hong Kong, most MTR stations have four or more entrances, and some have up to ten, all connected by underground or overground pedestrian links. This design widens an individual train station’s footprint far beyond its concourse.

It also means that we can locate points for transport interchange on more than one street location. This disperses pedestrian movement and minimises pavement overcrowding. And it distributes the economic uplift of close station entrances over a wider urban area, benefiting a much larger part of the community.

Hong Kong’s MTR and Airport Express networks comprise a total of 93 stations and carry an average of about 4.97M passengers per day.

Source: GovHK

THE RAIL+PROPERTY MODEL

Another way of spreading the impact and value of a station is to integrate it with surrounding precincts. MTR station concourse buildings have entrances to nearby retail, commercial or residential developments. Bus and taxi interchanges are often located at the base of these buildings.

This development model – termed Rail+Property’ by MTR – shows the value of planning integrated developments above and around stations. It’s a solution that provides convenience for passengers as well as sources of revenue to fund the infrastructure.

But this model depends on surrounding land ownership and access to the revenue generated by building the development. Many cities need new infrastructure in existing urban areas where land ownership is complex. This makes it challenging to deliver the Rail+Property model. MTR also faces similar issues as they upgrade and expand infrastructure on an ageing network.

Commuters in an MTR subway passage. Image: Yuen Man Cheung / Alamy
Collage art wall in an MTR subway passage. Image: SOPA Images Limited / Alamy

COMPLEX CHALLENGES AND LONG-TERM BENEFITS

With barriers to integrating with surrounding developments, the alternative is to create underground corridors linking station entrances. But building below congested urban roads is challenging. The process of acquiring land, upsetting residents and avoiding existing infrastructure is costly. It can be easier to minimise the station footprint to get the job done.

There’s also the challenge of maintaining and policing long corridors and multiple entrances. Creating retail opportunities for these passageways provides revenue and passive’ policing. Food and beverage outlets are popular with passengers but there are only so many convenience stores a station can support. Underground retail also adds more construction, servicing, ventilation and emergency escape needs.

Designing these passageways to be passenger friendly and inviting requires investment. MTR has improved the stark, dimly-lit passageways of its older stations with better lighting, interior finishes and art.

Despite delivery challenges, Hong Kong shows that the distributed station entrance model works well. It requires vision and a large investment of time and money to get right, but the payoff is huge. MTR’s infrastructure and approach to station planning is the secret to the success of Hong Kong’s incredible urban density. Other cities can apply this approach to create enduring positive economic and social impact.

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more.