对话中:GSK亚洲总部,建成三年以来的回顾


分享至

微博 Twitter Facebook

自正式落成使用以来,位于新加坡的GSK亚洲总部已逐渐从一个地标性的商办建筑转为后疫情时代的办公空间典范。在这里,我们请项目的设计师谈谈设计,谈谈项目带来的价值。

我们为全球医药保健公司GSK度身打造的亚洲总部具有极高的灵活度和可适应性,大楼拥有可重新布局的办公楼层,大量不同的室内外工作场景设置,整座办公楼通风良好,周围则是大量的花园。我们新加坡事务所的建筑师Razvan Ghilic-Micu与董事Tamagin Blake-SmithPeter Dean对谈,共同探讨项目建成三年以来的变化和思考。

RAZVAN GHILIC-MICU(下文使用首字母缩写RGM):GSK搬入这个新亚洲总部已经三年了,这个项目为新加坡带来了哪些方面的价值?

TAMAGIN BLAKE-SMITH(下文使用首字母缩写TBS):这幢办公楼自投入使用以来了实现了高度灵活的使用且可适应环境的变化,特别在过去的几个月中,GSK的业主表示办公楼很好地应对了COVID-19疫情带来的危机。大楼能够非常直观地对其所在环境保持敏感,并且真正体现了场所塑造的概念。大楼的体量并不巨大,仅有六层楼高,我们采取“由内而外”的设计手法的成功也得到了佐证,呼应东南亚当地特色历史建筑形式店屋和周围的住宅街区。我们设想GSK会随着时间的推移而继续发挥适应环境的能力,并且将继续屹立百年甚至更久。

PETER DEAN(下文使用首字母缩写PD):大楼连接了低层的历史保护建筑和位于项目后方的Star Vista。更重要的是,我认为该项目改变了新加坡办公楼地面层布局的可能性,展示了公共可达空间的价值以及使用这些公共空间作为办公空间的自然延伸。

RGM:GSK项目中我最喜爱的一点也是地面层和与周围环境的联系令人感觉非常友好和可达。这和传统的企业办公总部极为不同。能否请你为我们解读一下这是如何规划的?

PD:GSK十分明确地表达了他们对于社区参与的重视,但同时办公空间的隐私和安全性也是首要考虑。因此,我们将所有的电梯和楼梯安排在中间的核心位置,这样,剩下的楼层空间和中庭成为了能够带来活力的主要空间。设计打造出友好的户外空间,并且可以从户外一眼望到室内,室内外通过视线相通进行衔接,同时还保证了安全的出入。

TBS:大楼的建筑语言优雅地顺流而下连起公园内的历史保护建筑,使场地丰富的文化历史与具有当地特色的景观自然相连。

RMG:这几栋历史建筑小楼如何与新建的办公楼统一使用运营?

TBS:我们一开始就把这整个地块当作一体的园区进行考虑,而不是将这些小楼当作单独的建筑。因此,我们考虑的是整个园区的体验,以及如何更好地使用这些历史建筑空间,保留空间的魅力。赋予了其一体的办公功能后,这些小楼让人感觉和新建的办公楼一样,都是GSK的办公空间,只不过有些新有些旧。

并不是所有GSK的员工都知道GSK有四名科学家曾获得诺贝尔奖。我们将每一位科学家的名字分别命名每一栋小楼,这也是将企业的文化荣誉与员工联系起来的有趣方式。

PD:主楼地下空间的高度和历史建筑的高度相等,这是一个非常细微的表示,但在新旧建筑的体量上制造出了微妙的联系。当时的设计审核小组对设计将历史小楼转化成项目中的重要资产表示高度赞扬。

RGM:“绿色走廊”(曾是一条连接新加坡和马来西亚的铁路)附近的罗彻斯特公园对园内GSK总部的设计产生了哪些影响?

TBS:说到这一点我感到非常自豪,我们为项目的室内及户外空间精心挑选了6万多株当地绿植与树木。在过去的三年中,这些植物长势良好,愈发展示出自然的美感。

我们希望所有员工在到达他们的办公桌前,都能拥有穿行在花园中的体验,这一点在设计时非常明确,并贯穿始终 — 内部空间充满自然光照且使用有趣的公园家具兼具实用和氛围。

PD:我们还与工程师紧密合作,改善室内空气的质量。该办公楼拥有新加坡首个整体地面送风系统,不遗余力地打造健康的办公环境。

RGM:在韧性与可持续的议题上,Hassell是澳大利亚和英国“建筑师宣言”(Architects Declare)的创始签署企业之一,现在新加坡事务所也加入了。那么在GSK这个项目中,我们有哪些可持续、健康以及宜居方面的重要概念嵌入了建筑的设计中?

TBS:可持续设计方面很重要的几方面之一便是光照的控制。我们在设计中将自然光的使用最大化,配合不同时段的光照设置合理的办公模式,这样人们就能自由地选择在哪里工作。与传统商办项目的楼层布局相比,中庭和以光照为导向的工位布局让员工可接触到自然光的时间增加了50%,这也大大降低了能源的消耗。

我们在外立面上设计了美观的遮阳结构,降低了西面80%的反光。

PD:横向的遮阳结构从宽到窄,这样早晨的阳光能够轻松地洒入内部,午后炙热的日光则被挡住了。

我们通过参数化建模测试了多种遮阳结构,最后设计了最适合场地的外立面。

TBS:另一个主要的策略为打造具有适应能力的楼面,这就意味着GSK可以自行按需重新布局,而不必花费好几百万重新开始。固定的楼面设置让企业非常难适应新的变化,这也是非常不可持续的,如果企业发生制度上的变化意味着拆改而丢弃大量不合时宜的材料。

RGM:GSK于三年前竣工,于七年前开始设计 — 目标使用20年。能否请你谈一下如何不局限于现在标准的可持续合规,为更长期的可持续而设计呢?

TBS:设计需要不局限于填满可持续方面的得分卡,而是多考虑空间如何影响人们的健康。例如,我们为1000名员工只提供了31个车位,但提供了120多个自行车停车位。此举便是为了鼓励员工使用公共交通,增加机动性,并且极大地降低该园区的碳足迹。这也是新加坡首个能达到这些指标的商办项目。

RGM:在COVID-19疫情期间,大楼哪方面的设计能够应对这一时期带来的挑战吗?

TBS:该办公项目的设计初衷为打造一个具有高度灵活性的“办公园区”,例如wifi覆盖所有空间,这就让GSK能够迅速地依托科技支持前来办公场所以及在家办公的核心员工。而员工几年来也早就适应了高度灵活,基于活动的工作模式。现在,GSK也无需在硬件升级上花费更多以满足灵活办公的需求。

RGM:从GSK亚洲总部的设计中我们学到了什么?有哪些可以运用到之后的项目中吗?

PD:“由内而外”的设计手法,将办公空间作为核心有助于我们理解如何打造成功的建筑回应。在这个项目上,我们不断地测试人们使用办公空间的各种动线 — 典型的一天包括使用主楼梯、廊桥、次楼梯和社交空间,在办公空间中的移动不再是效率优先,而是使用行走友好的动线增加与同事的交流和联系。这样的思考影响着我的其他项目。

TBS:我们挑战常规预设 — 这可能来自我们自己、来自业主和现有的行业可持续和建筑标准。有些时候设计师必须忍住按照自己的喜好来进行设计,最终我们是业主以及未来空间使用者的引导者,打造深受人们喜爱的场所。

我们使用cookies以提供更好的浏览体验。点击此处获得更多相关信息。

In conversation: GSK Asia House, three years on


Share

Twitter Facebook

In the three years since it opened, GSK’s Asia HQ has evolved from a benchmark for workplace design in Singapore to an exemplar post-COVID office. Here, the building’s designers discuss the project and its legacy.

With its reconfigurable floorplates, range of indoor and outdoor work settings, abundant fresh air and spacious garden surrounds, the global healthcare business’ purpose-built Asia headquarters was designed to be flexible and adaptable. Razvan Ghilic-Micu from our Singapore studio talks to Principals Tamagin Blake-Smith and Peter Dean about the building, three years on.

RAZVAN GHILIC-MICU: Three years have flown since the GSK team moved into their new Asia home. What value do you feel the building has given to Singapore?

TAMAGIN BLAKE-SMITH: The building has proven itself to be incredibly flexible and adaptable – and in past months our clients at GSK have reported that the building is responding well to the COVID-19 crisis. It’s an intuitive building that’s sensitive to its site and respects place making ideas. It’s proven to be a great example of designing from the inside out and with the building’s modest scale of only six levels, it respectfully responds to the local typology of heritage shophouses and the residential neighbourhood. We imagine GSK being adapted over time and remaining standing for 100 years or longer.

PETER DEAN: The building connects with both the low-rise heritage buildings on the site and the physically dominating Star Vista that sits behind it. More importantly, I think it’s changed the way that Singapore looks at ground level building surrounds, showcasing the benefits of public access and using these spaces as a natural extension of the workplace.

RGM: One of my favourite things about GSK is how the ground floor and surrounds feel inviting and accessible. It’s so different to what you’d expect from a typical corporate headquarters. Can you explain a little about how this was planned?

PD: GSK was overt about wanting a lot of community engagement, but they also needed privacy and security. By consolidating all lifts and staircases into one single core, we made the rest of the ground floor areas and public atrium the dynamic heart of the project. The design creates welcoming external spaces and sight lines from external areas into the workplace while maintaining secure access. 

TBS: The building gracefully sweeps down to the scale of the heritage buildings that surround it within the park, integrating with the rich history and native landscape of the site. 

RMG: How did you integrate the heritage bungalows into the larger building operation?

TBS: We thought about the site as a campus from the outset. So, rather than considering the bungalows as separate buildings, we thought about the entire campus experience and how to purposefully use those spaces while retaining their charm. Giving the bungalows clear functions meant that it felt like one workplace with both new and heritage buildings.

Not many GSK employees knew that the company has had four Nobel Prize winners. We named each of the bungalows after one of these winners, stitching them into an interesting narrative that connects employees to the heritage and legacy of their company.

PD: The height of the main building’s undercroft is the same height as the heritage bungalows. It’s a subtle gesture, but it creates a comfortable sense of connection to scale when you’re entering the building. The approving bodies were very complimentary about how the design turned the bungalows into a key asset.

RGM: How did GSK’s setting within lush Rochester Park near The Green Corridor inform its design?

TBS: I’m proud to say we added 60,000 carefully chosen native plants to the site – inside and outside the building. They’ve developed beautifully in these three years.

We had this clear vision that we wanted everyone to feel like they were arriving at a park and walking through that park right until they reached their desks. This principle also extended to the natural light-filled spaces and the playful park furniture throughout the workplace.

PD: We also worked closely with the engineers on the quality of indoor air. The building features one of Singapore’s first fully underfloor air distribution systems, which adds to the sense of holistic wellbeing.

RGM: On the topic of resilience and sustainability, Hassell is one of the founding signatories of Architects Declare in Australia and the UK, and now in Singapore, too. What are some of the meaningful concepts around sustainability, wellness and liveability that were coded into the architecture?

TBS: One of the key aspects of sustainable design is good daylight control, so we designed GSK to offer access to daylight and ensure a good variety of settings dispersed around the workplace and give people the choice of where to work at different times of the day. The combination of the central atrium and solar orientation have increased daylight access by more than 50 percent when compared against conventional commercial floorplate design, impacting the ability to save on energy consumption.

We introduced a beautiful sun shading element on the façade, reducing glare issues on the west-facing areas by more than 80 percent.

PD: The horizontal sunshades taper to let in the early morning sun but block the midday heat and piercing afternoon sun.

A lot of options were tested through parametric modelling to confidently create the most site-specific building façade.

TBS: Another key strategy was targeting budget for impact. Investing in an adaptable floorplate means GSK can reconfigure in the future without spending millions of dollars. Designing a rigid floorplate makes it hard for organisations to adapt and it’s unsustainable if natural organisational change means ripping out obsolete materials.

RGM: GSK was completed three years ago and designed almost seven years ago – and it’s meant to last for another 20. Tell me how you moved beyond just sustainability compliance and today’s standards to design for longer term sustainability?

TBS: I think it’s about moving beyond the sustainability scorecard into thinking about how a space impacts people’s wellbeing. A key feature was providing only 31 carparking spaces for 1,000 employees and more than 120 bicycle parking spaces. This encourages employees to use the public transport network, increases mobility, and significantly reduces the carbon footprint on the site as a development. It’s the first commercial project in Singapore of its kind to achieve these metrics.

RGM: What’s one aspect of the building design that’s particularly relevant in this time of COVID-19?

TBS: It was designed as a workplace campus’ with a high level of agility – for example, it’s 100 percent wireless. This has enabled GSK to rapidly pivot the use of the workplace supporting essential employees working both in the building and from home. Employees had already been used to this high level of agility and activity based working over the years, and now it’s allowed the building to be flexible during the crisis without the need to spend money on physical upgrades.

RGM: What did you learn from designing GSK’s headquarters that you’ve taken into subsequent projects?

PD: Designing the building from the inside out’ and putting the workplace first is central to understanding how to develop a successful building response. On this project we continually tested options for how people weave their way through the workplace – making their typical journeys around the office via the cascading central stair, the bridge links, secondary stairs and social hubs work not just for efficient movement but also for communication and connection. This thinking has informed projects I’ve worked on ever since.

TBS: We challenged preconceptions and ideas – our own, our client’s and current standards for sustainability and building. Sometimes it’s tempting as designers to work through our own filters, but at the end of the day we’re agents for the client – and for the people who will occupy the building over time. Ultimately it’s about designing places people love.

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more.