疫情下的商业零售设计应对

分享至

微博    Twitter    Facebook

我们的设计如何应对社会和购物需求变化带来的长期影响?

作者:何颖珩(Carrie Ho),插图:Sammy Barry

在香港、东京、上海、首尔等高密度经济中心城市,购物中心更像是人们的公共社交空间 – 一个“第三场所”。其中的业态焦点逐渐从产品销售转变至社交体验,零售的趋势也产生了相应的变化。

2020年初,Covid-19在整个亚洲的蔓延传播震动了全球商业零售行业。在亚太地区,在长期封城对人们的生活习惯还没有产生影响前,就已经有超过60%的消费者使用电子商务平台了。20203月,随着大流行的恶化,美国的杂货快递应用的下载增量高达218%布里菲尔德咨询公司(Brickfields Consulting)4月研究报告显示73%的澳大利亚消费者在大流行期间不会到访购物中心。

上海三林印象城,由Hassell设计。

商业零售空间如何应对?

Brickfields在澳大利亚的研究结果也表明前景并非一片黯淡。只有2%的被访者表示他们将“不再”回归典型的零售消费习惯。因此,即使大部分消费者要重拾大流行前的消费习惯,购物中心和零售空间也需要足够灵活以适应此次和今后的其他危机。

Covid-19大流行以来,我们已经发现全球出现了越来越多的基建韧性和灵活性范例,例如将体育场转化成紧急应急中心和临时护理点。大流行、社会动荡甚至安全突发事件会带来社会需求的变化,因此未来的商业零售设计将需要打造能够应对此变化的场所。

新鲜空气和室内/室外空间

室内空间质量将得到更多的关注,以有助于减轻人们对病毒通过空气传播的担忧。因此,更多市内外空间的融合将对商业零售楼宇的规划起到至关重要的作用,比如建筑外立面周围供自然通风的多功能阳台。该研究表明,餐饮仍然是主要的活动,也是吸引回头客的因素,因此可以用于周末市集和户外用餐的室外空间是一个优势。配置儿童游乐空间和城市农场的屋顶花园(如K11 Musea屋顶农场希慎广场的城市农庄)能够创造积极的社交环境,而活动型的外立面可以容纳开放门面,并融合室内外空间。

新加坡乌节路新商场的屋顶花园。图源:Kevin Ma / Alamy

多渠道的销售和客户服务

封城期间,对快递服务和移动购物应用的需求猛增,尤其是在越来越多的人们使用电子商务平台的情况下,购物中心可以通过增加上门取货和送货来提升客户的忠实度,从而支持保持社交距离的措施。Brickfields在澳大利亚的研究显示超过50%的人们将考虑商业零售中心上门面对面送货,近70%的人对无接触快递到家持开放态度,超过20%的人倾向于将货物放置于快递柜中。

为了应对这个趋势,人们考虑将免下车购物设施或自助取货柜台适度地设置在临近的公共可达点。几乎无接触的取货和快递服务可以通过自动化的系统实现,利用屋顶空间的隐藏吊轨集中连接停车场装卸区和消费者便捷取货点。

智能购物区

随着人们开始逐渐回归实体零售商场,限制社交接触的科技将趋于一体化。例如:智能停车将可让汽车先停在移动走道边,之后由停车系统自动运输入停车场,再从停车场运输至指定的下客/上客大堂。这不仅方便消费者,也有助于统计人流数量,并可在有限的建筑面积中配置更多的停车空间。

满足现有需求和顺应未来发展的场所

我们应将从Covid-19危机中获得的经验教训应用到今后的场所设计中,以应对今后发生的任何重大事件。设计或改造商业零售中心时,我们必须牢记即使产生卫生和安全危机时,人们仍将零售中心视为重要的购物和社交的空间。

上海吉宝静安中心,由Hassell设计。效果图:Bloom Images

我们使用cookies以提供更好的浏览体验。点击此处获得更多相关信息。

Adapting retail spaces for life after Covid-19

Share

Twitter    Facebook

How do we design for the lasting impacts of changed social – and shopping – needs?

By Carrie Ho with illustration by Sammy Barry

In highly dense cities like Hong Kong, Tokyo, Shanghai and Seoul, shopping centres are as much communal spaces for people to socialise as they are economic hubs – a Third Place”. The trade mix has progressed from product sales focus to social experience, and retail trends have shifted accordingly.

The Covid-19 pandemic that broke out across Asia in early 2020 has shaken the global retail industry. In the Asia Pacific region, over 60% of people were already using e-commerce platforms before protracted lockdowns made their marks on people’s ongoing habits. In the US, downloads of grocery delivery apps increased as much as 218% in March 2020, as the pandemic intensified. And a report from Brickfields Consulting in April showed that in Australia, 73% of customers wouldn’t visit a shopping centre in the midst of the pandemic.

Vanke InCity Mall Shanghai, China, designed by Hassell.

HOW DO RETAIL SPACES NEED TO RESPOND?

The Brickfields research from Australia also showed the outlook wasn’t entirely bleak. Only 2% said they would never’ resume typical retail habits. So even if most people would return to pre-pandemic retail patterns, shopping centres and retail spaces need to be flexible enough to adapt to this and other crises.

Since the Covid-19 pandemic hit, we’ve seen increasing examples of infrastructure flexibility and resilience across the globe – like stadiums being converted into emergency response centres and temporary care facilities. The future of retail design will need to create places that are responsive to changed social needs after pandemics, civil unrest or even security emergencies.

FRESH AIR AND INDOOR/OUTDOOR SPACES

Indoor air quality will become a greater focus to help address concerns about transmission of viruses via air circulation. A greater mix of indoor and outdoor settings is therefore crucial when planning a retail complex, like including multi-purpose balconies along facades for natural ventilation. As the research shows, dining is still a major activity – one that will pull customers back to retail spaces, so outdoor spaces that can be used for weekend markets and al fresco dining are an advantage. Roof gardens with children’s playgrounds and urban farms (like K11 Musea Roof Farm or Hysan Place Urban Farm) create positive social environments, while operable facades can accommodate open shopfronts and integrate indoor and outdoor spaces.

Rooftop garden at a new shopping mall at Orchard Road, Singapore. IMAGE: Kevin Ma / Alamy

MULTI-CHANNEL SALES AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

With delivery services and mobile shopping apps booming during lock-down, shopping centres can create loyalty by offering increased pick-up and delivery options to support social distancing, especially as the number of people using e-commerce platforms increases. The Brickfields research in Australia suggests that over 50% of people would consider home delivery from retail centres with face-to-face drop off, nearly 70% are open to contactless home delivery and over 20% would opt for personal delivery to lockers.

To respond to this trend, considerations could include centralised drive-ins or self-service pick-up counters sensitively positioned near public access points. Pick-up and delivery with almost zero contact could be possible via automated systems using hidden pendant tracks in the roof space that centrally connect the carpark loading dock and convenient customer pick-up points.

SMARTER SHOPPING DISTRICTS

As people begin to return to retail malls, technology that limits social contact will be integral. For example, smart parking options that allow a car to be dropped at a travelator and robotically moved to and from a carpark to designated drop-off/pick-up lobbies. This is convenient for customers, helps manage numbers and flow of people, and increases carpark spaces within limited GFA.

PLACES FOR NOW THAT CAN ADAPT

It’s important that we apply what we have learned from the Covid-19 crisis to the way spaces should function after any major event. When designing – or redesigning – new retail centres, we must remember the needs of people who rely on them as vital social spaces for shopping and socialising, even during health and security crises.

Park Avenue Central, designed by Hassell. Image: Bloom Images

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more.